Synod Assembly 2018


Philip Melanchthon was a scholar, theologian and primary founder of Lutheranism. He worked closely with Luther, helping with his translation of the Bible and serving as the primary author of the Augsburg Confession. Melanchthon was considered an intellectual leader of the Lutheran Reformation and an influential designer of educational systems still used today.

Northeastern Iowa Synod Assembly
June 8-10, 2018
Wartburg College, Waverly, Iowa

Celebrating Renewal: Philip Melanchthon — Education

The 2018 Synod Assembly will gather at Wartburg College, Waverly, June 8-10, for business surrounded by word and sacrament, with the theme, “Celebrating Renewal: Philip Melanchthon — Education.”

Assembly events will include worship and communion services, plenary sessions, forums, seminars, ministry exhibits and more. The Synod Assembly will elect a vice president, secretary, synod council and committee members, and voting members for the 2019 Churchwide Assembly.


The Rev. Dr. Timothy J. Wengert, an ELCA pastor and professor emeritus of Reformation history at the Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia (now known as United Lutheran Seminary), will be the keynote speaker. His keynote title will be “‘More Lutheran than Luther:’ Philip Melanchthon and the Educational
Reformation of the Church.”

A parish pastor for seven years in Minnesota and Wisconsin, Wengert received his doctorate from Duke University (Durham, North Carolina, USA) in 1984. He has written extensively on the Reformation, including several books on Philip Melanchthon and Martin Luther. He was co-editor of the English edition of The Book of Concord (Fortress, 2000) and translated Luther’s Small Catechism, widely used throughout the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

Wengert will present three seminars on topics related to Luther’s Catechisms, the Augsburg Confession, and Melanchthon’s Apology of the Augsburg Confession.


Representing the churchwide organization will be the Rev. Heidi Torgerson-Martinez, director for Global Service, ELCA, in the Global Mission unit. Heidi leads the team that recruits, calls, trains, and supports some 230 ELCA missionaries in nearly 50 countries around the world.

Torgerson-Martinez’s previous calls include eight years of service as the Program Director for Young Adults in Global Mission (YAGM) and four years of mission service in Mexico. She is originally from small-town North Dakota, and is a graduate of Luther College and the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago. 

She plans to present seminars related to missionary service and Young Adults in Global Mission.


Elections & Resolutions

Voting members will elect synod council and committee members.

Business is presented in resolution form. Resolutions may be submitted to the Resolutions Committee by a voting member of a congregation in the Northeastern Iowa Synod, a congregation, or a conference.

Pre-Assembly Orientation An outline for hosting a pre-assembly orientation.

Parliamentary Procedure Guide An outline to follow parliamentary procedure.




Early bird registration fees will be available until Tuesday, May 8, 2018. An additional $25 fee will be added after that date.


Voting members must be voting members of their congregations.


Congregations are encouraged to elect a youth voting member.


Visitors, both adults and youth, are welcome and encouraged to attend.


Every person attending must register.


Voting members have the opportunity to request the pre-assembly report as a printed or digital copy. The report will be mailed or emailed to registered voting members on May 8.


Registration materials and fee information can be downloaded below.

Registration Information
Voting Member Registration Form
Visitor Registration Form


Past Synod Assemblies

2017 Synod Assembly Previous Synod Assemblies


Synod Assembly Dates

June 8-10, 2018
Wartburg College, Waverly

June 14-16, 2019
Luther College, Decorah

June 12-14, 2020
Wartburg College, Waverly