2021 Synod Assembly


June 12, 2021
Online Assembly

The 2021 Northeastern Iowa Synod Assembly will be a one-day online virtual event beginning at 8 a.m. Saturday, June 12.

Visitors will be able to view the Assembly live on the synod’s Facebook page, Northeastern Iowa Synod, ELCA. The live broadcast will be based at Redeemer Lutheran Church in Waverly. 

The primary purpose of this assembly will be the election of a new bishop. In addition, voting members will elect a synod secretary, synod council members, nominating committee, and churchwide voting members for the 2022 ELCA Churchwide Assembly. They will also conduct other business of the synod, including approving the synod budget and compensation guidelines. 

The assembly will kick off with a message from the Rev. Dr. Martin J. Lohrmann, associate professor of Lutheran Confessions and Heritage for Wartburg Theological Seminary, Dubuque, to highlight the assembly theme, “Celebrating Renewal: Johannes Bugenhagen, Parish Pastor of the Reformation.”

Lori Fedyk, treasurer of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, will serve as the churchwide representative and will preside over the election of the Bishop.





Registration is now open!


All voting members must register online by Monday, May 10, 2021. The fee is $89 per voting member. There will be no late registrations after the May 10 date.




Mark These Dates

Bishops Forum, Tuesday, April 27, 6:30-8 p.m.
Voting members can join this live online forum to hear three retired bishops share about their experiences serving as bishops and their insights on the leadership qualities they feel are important for a bishop. A video of the forum will be available to view after the April 27 presentation.

Read more about the Bishops Forum.  


Test Your Tech, Thursday, June 10, 5-7 p.m.
Voting members will have an opportunity to join a technology session anytime from 5 to 7 p.m. on June 10, to try out the online technology for the synod assembly, practice voting and ask any questions.

Video Introduction to the Assembly

Learn about the virtual Synod Assembly and the process for the election of the bishop.


The Northeastern Iowa Synod uses an ecclesiastical ballot for the election of the Bishop. At the Assembly, voting members will submit the name of an eligible minister of Word and Sacrament of the ELCA. The first ballot is considered a nominating ballot, and everyone who receives a vote is listed on the second ballot, except for those who withdraw. The number of nominees decreases on subsequent ballots until one nominee receives the required majority of votes. (See box.)



The Synod Assembly will include designated time to honor the milestone anniversaries from 2020 of women being ordained in the ELCA:

  • 50th anniversary of U.S. Lutheran churches’ decision to ordain women
  • 40th anniversary of the ordination of the first women of color
  • 10th anniversary of the ELCA’s decision to officially ordain people in same-gender committed relationships.


This video features women who are rostered ministers of Word and Sacrament from the Northeastern Iowa Synod to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the Ordination of Women.

Men who are rostered ministers of Word and Sacrament from the Northeastern Iowa share this video message of support for their women colleagues, to celebrate 50 years of faith ministry alongside one another.

Letter of Support for Female Rostered Ministers — Nearly 60 male pastors from the Northeastern Iowa Synod signed this letter of support for the care and concern for their female rostered colleagues and to celebrate 50 years of ministry alongside one another.




Assembly Resources

Assembly Information SheetIncludes information about the schedule, elections, viewing online and more.


Calling a Bishop — A guide to prepare for the 2021 bishop election.


Synod Profile — An overview of the Northeastern Iowa Synod’s ministries, rostered ministers and congregations.  


2021 Resolution Submittal Form — One resolution per form, submitted to the secretary of the synod by 12 noon Friday, June 11, 2021.


Biographical Information Form — To be completed by the top seven nominees for election of a Bishop.


Parliamentary Procedure Guide — An outline to follow parliamentary procedure.



The Synod Assembly offering is a vital funding source for synod ministries designated by the Northeastern Iowa Synod Council. This year’s offering is designated to support these ministries:


FUND FOR LEADERS — provides scholarships for seminarians from the Northeastern Iowa Synod. Scholarships totaling $89,982 were given to nine seminary students in 2020.


COMPANION SYNOD TRAVEL FUND — helps cover travel expenses for guests from companion synods in Hungary and Namibia to visit the Northeastern Iowa Synod. The synod did not host any companion synod guests in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but plans are to resume visits when travel restrictions and safety guidelines allow.


BISHOP CRISIS FUND — used at the discretion of the Bishop to directly aid individuals and families within the synod territory in times of need. Aid may include providing food, clothing, shelter, medical assistance, moving or transportation expenses, or other assistance.


Gifts to the Assembly offering can be made online through the donate button below. 




Checks for the Assembly offering can be made out to the Northeastern Iowa Synod and mailed to: Northeastern Iowa Synod, 201 20th St. SW, P.O. Box 804 Waverly, IA 50677-0804.



Read about Past Synod Assemblies