Synod Assembly


Celebrating Renewal: Jan Hus — Bold Leadership

Northeastern Iowa Synod Assembly
June 12-14, 2015
Wartburg College, Waverly, IowaAssemblyNewmansm

A total of 331 voting members and 48 visitors attended the 2015 Northeastern Iowa Synod Assembly at Wartburg College, Waverly, June 12 – 14. The theme for the event was “Celebrating Renewal: Jan Hus — Bold Leadership.”

The Assembly kicked off Friday evening with Bishop Steven Ullestad preaching at the Holy Communion service. The evening plenary session included greetings from Wartburg College President Darrel Colson, Jennifer Prinz of Portico Benefit Services, and Paula Kitt of the Mission Investment Fund. The evening capped off with a celebration of the 45th anniversary of the ordination of women.


The Rev. Kathryn Kleinhans

The Rev. Jenna Couch preached at Saturday morning’s prayer service. The morning plenary session featured the Rev. Kathryn A. Kleinhans, Ph.D., Mike and Marge McCoy Family Distinguished Chair in Lutheran Heritage and Mission and Professor of Religion, Wartburg College, who gave the keynote address on the bold leadeship of Jan Hus.

The Rev. Barbara Berry-Bailey, manager, Companion Education, Global Mission, brought greetings from the churchwide organization. Doug Johnson, president and CEO of Lutheran Services in Iowa, brought greetings from LSI, and Bishop Steven Ullestad presented his report to the Assembly.


The Rev. Barbara Berry-Bailey

Assembly voting members and visitors attended up to three learning sessions before the afternoon plenary session, which included elections and voting on resolutions. The Rev. Stephen Brackett, assistant to the Bishop, and Jennifer Prinz of Portico asked for suggestions how to use the synod’s earned reward funds to improve the health of rostered leaders.

Members of the Hunger Network introduced the “My Piggy Bank” project to support World Hunger. They invited everyone at the assembly to take piggy banks back to their congregations to fill up for World Hunger. A special evening prayer service followed in the Wartburg Chapel.

Sunday’s plenary session included recognition of two congregations for their giving to World Hunger:

  • Trinity, Mason City, for giving $40,155.75 to World Hunger in 2014, the most dollars from any congregation in this synod.
  • St. Peter, Toeterville, for giving $5,670 to World Hunger, which represented $46 per baptized member, the highest giving rate in the synod.


The session also opened the floor to assembly participants with an opportunity to share how their congregations have experienced or demonstrated bold leadership. The Assembly concluded with a Holy Communion celebration with Berry-Bailey preaching and an anthem performed by the Assembly choir.

A number of the reports, sermons, resolutions, election results and more can be downloaded or viewed on this web page. (See 2015 Assembly Resources.)






2015 Assembly Resources

2015 Assembly Attendance

Voting Members   331
Visitors   48
Total Registered   379


Synod Assembly Dates

  • June 10-12, 2016
  • Wartburg College, Waverly
  • June 9-11, 2017
    Luther College, Decorah
  • June 8-10, 2018
    Wartburg College, Waverly
  • June 14-16, 2019
    Luther College, Decorah
  • June 12-14, 2020
    Wartburg College, Waverly

Read about Past Synod Assemblies


Piggy Banks for World Hunger

PiggyThe Hunger Network invites congregations to order free “My Piggy Bank” boxes to support World Hunger.